Don’t be afraid. Be you.

“Today you are you! That is truer than true! There is no one alive who is you-er than you!” -Dr. Seuss (Happy Birthday to You!)

I grew up reading Dr. Seuss books. You know ‘The Cat in the Hat’, ‘Red fish, Blue fish, 1 fish, 2 fish’, ‘Horton hears a Who’. Yeah, those books. However, I’ve never had a statement stand out to me like the one I heard that is out of ‘Happy Birthday to You’. Honestly it couldn’t be any truer because there really isn’t anyone out there in the whole wide world who even resembles you in the least bit.

You see when God decided that you were going to come and grace the Earth with your presence He made you to be unique, original, and one of a kind! He gave you gifts and talents that not any other one person has…anywhere! Also you better know, He doesn’t make any kind of mistakes either! In Jeremiah 1:5 (NLT) God says “I knew you before I formed you in your mother’s womb. Before you were born I set you apart and appointed you as my prophet to the nations.”

Now come on!! Is that not amazing?

That God knows you. You. 1 person out of the 7.4 billion other people on the planet, before you are even born!! and to top it all off God already loves you unconditionally. WOW!

I don’t know about you but that makes me feel pretty special!

But yes…I know there are days when you don’t think you are good enough or maybe you don’t feel like you can be yourself because of what others think. Well, let me tell you something, God didn’t give you those talents and gifts that you have, just so you could lay around and be too scared to try. Take a chance! Be yourself! The world will love you!

But if you still need a reason to try here is a good one! “Be strong and courageous, do not be afraid or tremble at them, for the LORD your God is the one who goes with you. He will not fail you or forsake you.” [Deuteronomy 31:6 (NASB)]

There, God will never fail you! Yeah, you might go through some rough times but He will never forsake you! One of my favorite songs by Group 1 Crew called “He Said” has a chorus that is probably the most powerful set of words I have ever heard in my life.

It goes:

“You may be knocked down now
But don’t forget what He said, He said
I won’t give you more, more than you can take
And I might let you bend, but I won’t let you break
And No, I’ll never every let you go
Don’t you forget what He said.”

That is powerful. The devil likes to pull at us, he loves to try and tear us down, make us doubt ourselves, to never try. That is his goal. But God is reigning and on high saying “I will never let you break.”

So go and join the band, or tryout for basketball or any sport for that matter, take an art class, make a video, write a book, sing a song. Do whatever it is that is a complete representation of you! Don’t you dare care about what others say or think about you! God made you to be so flipping fantastic and amazing that you don’t need this puny worlds approval. Because “Work willingly at whatever you do, as though you were working for the Lord rather than for people.” [Colossians 3:23 (NLT)]

I hope you have a creative day and may God bless America!

Sincerely, clearlymakenzie

Leave a comment